Loading...
RN Continuing Education · 50 States + DC
Aesthetic Nursing Policy & Procedures, Inc. is a CA BRN-Approved CE Provider (#18009). This guide covers the CE rules for every state board of nursing: the hours each board requires, the provider credentials it accepts, and whether a course from a California Board of Registered Nursing (BRN) approved provider counts toward RN renewal. Each entry was cross-checked against a direct review of the board’s website.
44
Accepted
32 Accept CA BRN Provider Courses; 12 Don’t Require CE.
5
Check With the Board First
Alaska, Florida, Hawaii, New Jersey and Oklahoma. The Rules Are Conditional or Unclear, or the Sources Conflict.
2
National or In-State Providers Only
Delaware and Maryland Accept Only Listed National or In-State Approvers.
01 · The Map
Select a State to See Its Board’s Language.
30 hrs / 2 yrs
Accepted Providers
National or CA BRN CEP Provider.
Every course on aestheticnursingces.com is from a CA BRN-Approved CE Provider (#18009).
Mandated Topics: 1 hr implicit bias (new licensees)
Aesthetic Practice
Specific GuidanceRNs may inject under physician-signed standardized procedures after a good faith exam by a physician, NP or PA. RNs cannot perform the exam or issue the treatment order. LVNs may not inject cosmetic agents.
02 · Key Findings
Most Large Boards Accept Approvals From Other States.
Texas, Pennsylvania, Ohio, Illinois, Georgia, Michigan, North Carolina, Tennessee and Washington all accept CE approved by another state’s board of nursing.
Florida Is Conditional.
The board accepts courses “approved by a state or national organization empowered to accredit nursing continuing education.” CE Broker still has to register the provider and receive completion reports, and some mandated topics need Florida-approved courses.
Delaware and Maryland List Specific Approvers.
Neither names other state boards of nursing. Maryland limits approvers to national and nursing-association bodies (COMAR 10.27.01.13H). New Jersey (N.J.A.C. 13:37-5.3(d)) is unconfirmed; see its entry.
Mandated Topics Can Need an In-State Course.
Texas human trafficking CE must be BON-approved. Oregon’s pain management hour is a state module. Nevada’s cultural competency courses are NSBN-approved.
ANCC Accreditation Reaches More States.
Every board rule reviewed accepts nationally accredited providers, including the states that don’t accept California approval.
03 · California Baseline
30Contact Hours Every Two Years
Under 16 CCR §1451, courses must come from a CE provider recognized by the BRN or be nationally accredited. New licensees are exempt at first renewal except for a one-hour implicit bias course.
Becoming an In-State Provider
Fees From the Board-Site Review. Out-of-State Organizations Offering Courses in California Need a BRN CEP Number.
04 · State by State
44 Accepted, 5 Check With the Board First, 2 National or In-State Providers Only.
| State | RN Requirement | Mandated Topics | Accepted Providers | CA BRN Provider |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | 24 hrs / 2 yrs | 4 hrs Nurse Practice Act (one-time) | Board Recognized Continuing Education Provider: A national or regional agency, journal, Alabama regulatory agency or board, or another Board of Nursing, recognized by the Alabama Board of Nursing as providing or approving continuing education in accordance with criteria that are substantially the same as those required of Alabama Board of Nursing approved providers of continuing education. [610-X-2-.10(2)] Providers can also apply to the ABN for approval ($400). | Accepted |
| Alaska | 2 of 3: 320 practice hrs, 30 CE hrs, 30 hrs professional activity / 2 yrs | None listed | Nationally accredited course or approved course by a sponsor. (Reference: page 31.) Other state boards not named; AIHCP lists Alaska as accepting. | Check First |
| Arizona | No required CE | None | Maintain competence through ongoing learning and application of knowledge in registered nursing practice. (Reference: Chapter 19 section B, page 26.) | AcceptedNo CEs Required |
| Arkansas | 15 hrs, certification, or academic credit / 2 yrs | None listed | National or State Approved course. The Board of Nursing will accept nursing continuing education activities approved by the following organizations/bodies PROVIDED that the appropriate documentation and contact hour assignment has been made and meets all other guidelines as set forth by the ASBN Rules: All State Boards of Nursing. | Accepted |
| California | 30 hrs / 2 yrs | 1 hr implicit bias (new licensees) | National or CA BRN CEP Provider. Every course on aestheticnursingces.com is from a CA BRN-Approved CE Provider (#18009). | Accepted |
| Colorado | No required CE | None | Not required. | AcceptedNo CEs Required |
| ConnecticutSources Conflict | See CT DPH page | 2 hrs mental health / suicide prevention every 6 yrs | A specialty nursing society or an equivalent organization in another jurisdiction, an educational offering sponsored by a hospital or other health care institution or a course offered by a regionally accredited academic institution or a state or local health department. State boards are not named; a CA BRN course may qualify through its sponsoring organization. Where Sources Disagree: Published sources list no general CE requirement. The board-site review found a list of accepted provider types on the DPH RN CE page. | Accepted |
| Delaware | 30 hrs / 2 yrs | 3 hrs substance abuse | Can apply for state CEP or approved provider who is approved Nationally. (Reference: Section 9.) A California-only provider does not appear to qualify. | Not Accepted |
| District of ColumbiaSecondary Sources Only | 24 hrs / 2 yrs | 2 hrs LGBTQ cultural competency; 3 hrs public health priorities | Credits approved by a registered nurse or health services organization recognized by the Board. | Accepted |
| Florida | 24 hrs / 2 yrs | 2 medical errors; 2 laws & rules; 2 human trafficking; 1 HIV/AIDS (one-time); 2 impairment; 2 domestic violence | Must be approved by a state or national organization empowered to accredit nursing continuing education. Conditional: the provider must register with CE Broker and report completions. Some mandated topics require Florida-approved courses. | Check First |
| Georgia | 30 hrs / 2 yrs (competency options) | None listed | Any provider recognized by another state board of nursing within the United States. | Accepted |
| HawaiiSources Conflict | One continuing competency learning activity per renewal (required since July 1, 2017) | None listed | Continuing competency is required for renewal: since July 1, 2017, every Hawaii nurse must complete one of the board's learning-activity options before renewing. The board's CE guidance booklet says continuing education approved by another State Board of Nursing is not acceptable. Confirm with the Hawaii Board of Nursing before relying on a CA BRN course. Where Sources Disagree: Published sources list 30 hrs and a 2019 FAQ quoted by MedCEC says California-approved courses are acceptable; the board's guidance booklet says other-state approvals are not acceptable. | Check First |
| IdahoSources Conflict | Not needed (board website) | None | Compact state. Provides info for APRN, not RN. Where Sources Disagree: Board-site review: not needed. Triad (2026) lists 15 hrs; MedCEC quotes a rule accepting other-board providers. | AcceptedNo CEs Required |
| Illinois | 20 hrs / 2 yrs | 1 sexual harassment; 1 implicit bias; 1 cultural competency; 1 dementia (if applicable) | Providers approved by another state's board of nursing. (Reference: page 3.) | Accepted |
| Indiana | No required CE | None | There is no CEU requirements for the renewal of LPN or RN licenses in Indiana. | AcceptedNo CEs Required |
| Iowa | 36 hrs / renewal | 2 hrs abuse reporting (if applicable) | Effective June 4, 2025, the Iowa Board of Nursing removed its requirement to approve CE providers and CE content. Renewal requires 36 contact hours of continuing education. | Accepted |
| Kansas | 30 hrs / 2 yrs | None listed | Kansas BRN approves any provider approved by another State Board of Nursing. | Accepted |
| Kentucky | 14 hrs / yr, or other options | None listed | KBN accepts continuing education from KBN-approved CE providers and providers approved by other state boards of nursing or by a national nursing organization listed in 201 KAR 20:220 Section 2(5). | Accepted |
| Louisiana | 30 hrs or 900 practice hrs / 2 yrs | None listed | CE contact hours which have been approved by any US Board of Nursing or accredited by ANCC are acceptable for renewal in Louisiana. | Accepted |
| Maine | No required CE for RNs | None | CEUs are not required for RNs. 50 CEUs required for APRN. | AcceptedNo CEs Required |
| Maryland | One of: 1,000 practice hrs within 5 yrs; Board-approved program completion within 5 yrs; or 30 CEUs within 2 yrs (COMAR 10.27.01.13G) | Implicit bias (one-time) | The Board shall accept CEUs awarded by: (e) A local, state, or national professional nursing association that provides educational programs; (Reference: Section H (5).) Other state boards of nursing are not on the list, so a course approved only by the CA BRN does not qualify. College coursework counts at 15 CEUs per semester hour. CEUs are subject to audit and must be kept for 6 years. | Not Accepted |
| Massachusetts | 15 hrs / 2 yrs | 1 hr domestic & sexual violence; dementia (one-time) | Can be out of state. CEP and RNs can use checklist provided by BON. If list meets criteria, then CE follows guidelines. | Accepted |
| Michigan | 25 hrs / 2 yrs | 2 hrs pain management; implicit bias | The Michigan Board of Nursing will accept any continuing education program or activity if it is approved or offered for CE credit by any of the following organizations: another state or provincial board of nursing. | Accepted |
| Minnesota | 24 hrs / 2 yrs | None listed | Be approved by a health licensing board or association or the provider of the continuing education must identify the objectives of the continuing education. | Accepted |
| MississippiSecondary Sources Only | No required CE unless out of practice | None | The Mississippi Nursing Practice Law does not mandate CEUs as a prerequisite to renewing or maintaining a RN or LPN license. If the RN or LPN has been out of practice for greater than five (5) years, the RN or LPN shall complete a minimum of twenty (20) contact hours of accepted continuing education earned in the previous 2-year period. Part 2815 (Continuing Education) was repealed by the Board in February 2020. | AcceptedNo CEs Required |
| Missouri | No required CE | None | No requirements. | AcceptedNo CEs Required |
| Montana | Not needed | None | The Montana Board of Nursing no longer requires continuing education contact hours for license renewal. The board still offers free contact hours on its continuing education page. | AcceptedNo CEs Required |
| Nebraska | 20 hrs + 500 practice hrs / 2 yrs | None listed | By approved provider or nationally approved courses. | Accepted |
| Nevada | 30 hrs / 2 yrs | 4 hrs cultural competency; 4 hrs bioterrorism (one-time) | (4) A provider of continuing education that is recognized by another board of nursing. (Reference: NAC 632.355.) Providers can also become a Nevada CEP ($100). | Accepted |
| New Hampshire | 30 hrs / 2 yrs | None listed | The Board does not require that your contact hours be earned at conferences that provide "official" contact hours granted by a professional organization. | Accepted |
| New JerseySources Conflict | 30 hrs / 2 yrs (up to 15 extra hrs carry forward) | 1 hr opioids | Nationally accredited courses or approved courses. (Reference: page 32.) Confirm with the NJ Board. Where Sources Disagree: AIHCP lists New Jersey as accepting CA BRN courses; HiveCE does not. | Check First |
| New MexicoSources Conflict | 30 hrs / 2 yrs | None listed | CNL, follows NCSBN guidelines. Compact state. The board also posts guidance on aesthetic certifications. Where Sources Disagree: Board-site review found compact / NCSBN guidance but no provider list; acceptance relies on secondary rule quotes. | Accepted |
| New York | No general hour requirement | Infection control every 4 yrs; child abuse (one-time) | No requirement listed. | AcceptedNo CEs Required |
| North Carolina | One of several options, e.g., 30 hrs / 2 yrs | None listed | North Carolina Board of Nursing (NCBON) or ANY state board of nursing. (Reference: page 1, #10.) | Accepted |
| North Dakota | 12 hrs / 2 yrs | None listed | Programs offered by approved providers of CE will be accepted if they meet the other requirements included in this policy. Board recognized providers of CE include: the North Dakota Board of Nursing; an accredited college or university; a health care regulatory board; a professional organization that is nationally accredited to approve CE. (Reference: Sections 7 & 8.) Can apply through ND BON website.. | Accepted |
| Ohio | 24 hrs / 2 yrs | 1 hr Ohio law & rules | (7) A continuing education activity that has been approved by a board or an agency that regulates a health care profession or related discipline in Ohio or another jurisdiction. | Accepted |
| OklahomaSecondary Sources Only | One of: 520 practice hrs, 24 CE hrs, certification, or academic credit / 2 yrs | None listed | Continuing qualifications for practice: one of 520 work hours, 24 contact hours of CE, specialty certification, a Board-approved refresher course, or 6 academic credit hours within 2 years. CE contact hours must come from an accredited approver of continuing education or an approved Oklahoma nursing education program. Oklahoma has issued multistate (compact) licenses since January 19, 2018. | Check First |
| Oregon | Practice hours | Pain management (state module); cultural competency | Mandatory CE courses in pain management & cultural competency. Does not state additional requirements. | Accepted |
| Pennsylvania | 30 hrs / 2 yrs | 2 hrs child abuse recognition | Activities approved by a Board in another jurisdiction are also approved by PA BRN. Providers can also apply for PA approval ($115, 5-year). | Accepted |
| Rhode Island | 10 hrs / 2 yrs | 2 hrs substance abuse; 1 hr Alzheimer’s | Any department or school of nursing approved by a board of nursing, or such other professional, labor organization, or accrediting agency as may be approved by the Board. | Accepted |
| South Carolina | 30 hrs or other competency option / 2 yrs | None listed | Any state Board of Nursing. | Accepted |
| South Dakota | Not needed | None | No CE required for RN renewal. | AcceptedNo CEs Required |
| TennesseeSources Conflict | 2 of 14 competency options / 2 yrs | None listed | Any State Board of Nursing. Where Sources Disagree: Published sources had no provider language. The board-site review confirmed that any state board of nursing is accepted. | Accepted |
| Texas | 20 hrs or certification / 2 yrs | 2 hrs jurisprudence & ethics; human trafficking (BON-approved) | Any course/offering/activity/program that offers Continuing Nursing Education (CNE) contact hours and is in the nurse's area of practice can be used for licensure renewal so long as it is approved by a credentialing agency or provider recognized by the Board. States CEs are accepted from other state boards. The human trafficking course must be BON-approved. | Accepted |
| UtahSources Conflict | 30 hrs or practice-hour options / 2 yrs | None listed | The laws and rules page does not list specific approved CE providers. The rule definitions (R156-31b-102) include continuing education approved by any state board of nursing. Where Sources Disagree: The board-site review found the rules unclear. The definitions section R156-31b-102 includes CE approved by any state board of nursing. | Accepted |
| Vermont | No CE required | None | No CEs required. VT is part of NCL; Compact License holders need to follow NCL guidelines. | AcceptedNo CEs Required |
| Virginia | Options, e.g., 30 hrs, or 15 hrs + 640 practice hrs / 2 yrs | None listed | Accepted sources include “11. A state or federal government agency.” The CA BRN is a state agency. | Accepted |
| Washington | 8 CE hrs + 96 practice hrs / yr | Suicide prevention (one-time) | Education can be completed in another state if it is related to nursing practice; any type of continuing education related to the practice of nursing meets the requirement. | Accepted |
| West Virginia | 12 hrs / 2 yrs | Drug diversion / best practice | Registered nurses are required to complete 12 hours of continuing education during each 2-year renewal period from a Board-approved CE provider. Approved providers include any State Board of Nursing in the U.S. | Accepted |
| Wisconsin | No current requirement | None | No current requirements. | AcceptedNo CEs Required |
| Wyoming | One option: 40 CE hrs or 400 practice hrs (or other options) / 2 yrs | None | The WSBN does not offer approval of educational programs. Wyoming is willing to accept courses approved by continuing nursing education (CNE), continuing medical education (CME), or activities sponsored by organizations, agencies, or educational institutions. These courses are approved for nursing or medical contact hours by an accredited provider or approver of continuing education. If you have a question on whether an activity or course will be accepted, please submit the following information to wsbn.practice@wyo.gov: level of license; course/activity description or syllabus; who provided the education (accrediting body/organization/institution); number of hours; certificate of completion/transcript (if available). | Accepted |
24 hrs / 2 yrs
Board Recognized Continuing Education Provider: A national or regional agency, journal, Alabama regulatory agency or board, or another Board of Nursing, recognized by the Alabama Board of Nursing as providing or approving continuing education in accordance with criteria that are substantially the same as those required of Alabama Board of Nursing approved providers of continuing education. [610-X-2-.10(2)]
Providers can also apply to the ABN for approval ($400).
Mandated Topics: 4 hrs Nurse Practice Act (one-time)
2 of 3: 320 practice hrs, 30 CE hrs, 30 hrs professional activity / 2 yrs
Nationally accredited course or approved course by a sponsor. (Reference: page 31.)
Other state boards not named; AIHCP lists Alaska as accepting.
Maintain competence through ongoing learning and application of knowledge in registered nursing practice. (Reference: Chapter 19 section B, page 26.)
15 hrs, certification, or academic credit / 2 yrs
National or State Approved course. The Board of Nursing will accept nursing continuing education activities approved by the following organizations/bodies PROVIDED that the appropriate documentation and contact hour assignment has been made and meets all other guidelines as set forth by the ASBN Rules: All State Boards of Nursing.
30 hrs / 2 yrs
National or CA BRN CEP Provider.
Every course on aestheticnursingces.com is from a CA BRN-Approved CE Provider (#18009).
Mandated Topics: 1 hr implicit bias (new licensees)
Not required.
See CT DPH page
A specialty nursing society or an equivalent organization in another jurisdiction, an educational offering sponsored by a hospital or other health care institution or a course offered by a regionally accredited academic institution or a state or local health department.
State boards are not named; a CA BRN course may qualify through its sponsoring organization.
Mandated Topics: 2 hrs mental health / suicide prevention every 6 yrs
30 hrs / 2 yrs
Can apply for state CEP or approved provider who is approved Nationally. (Reference: Section 9.)
A California-only provider does not appear to qualify.
Mandated Topics: 3 hrs substance abuse
24 hrs / 2 yrs
Credits approved by a registered nurse or health services organization recognized by the Board.
Mandated Topics: 2 hrs LGBTQ cultural competency; 3 hrs public health priorities
24 hrs / 2 yrs
Must be approved by a state or national organization empowered to accredit nursing continuing education.
Conditional: the provider must register with CE Broker and report completions. Some mandated topics require Florida-approved courses.
Mandated Topics: 2 medical errors; 2 laws & rules; 2 human trafficking; 1 HIV/AIDS (one-time); 2 impairment; 2 domestic violence
30 hrs / 2 yrs (competency options)
Any provider recognized by another state board of nursing within the United States.
One continuing competency learning activity per renewal (required since July 1, 2017)
Continuing competency is required for renewal: since July 1, 2017, every Hawaii nurse must complete one of the board's learning-activity options before renewing. The board's CE guidance booklet says continuing education approved by another State Board of Nursing is not acceptable.
Confirm with the Hawaii Board of Nursing before relying on a CA BRN course.
Compact state. Provides info for APRN, not RN.
20 hrs / 2 yrs
Providers approved by another state's board of nursing. (Reference: page 3.)
Mandated Topics: 1 sexual harassment; 1 implicit bias; 1 cultural competency; 1 dementia (if applicable)
There is no CEU requirements for the renewal of LPN or RN licenses in Indiana.
36 hrs / renewal
Effective June 4, 2025, the Iowa Board of Nursing removed its requirement to approve CE providers and CE content. Renewal requires 36 contact hours of continuing education.
Mandated Topics: 2 hrs abuse reporting (if applicable)
30 hrs / 2 yrs
Kansas BRN approves any provider approved by another State Board of Nursing.
14 hrs / yr, or other options
KBN accepts continuing education from KBN-approved CE providers and providers approved by other state boards of nursing or by a national nursing organization listed in 201 KAR 20:220 Section 2(5).
30 hrs or 900 practice hrs / 2 yrs
CE contact hours which have been approved by any US Board of Nursing or accredited by ANCC are acceptable for renewal in Louisiana.
CEUs are not required for RNs. 50 CEUs required for APRN.
One of: 1,000 practice hrs within 5 yrs; Board-approved program completion within 5 yrs; or 30 CEUs within 2 yrs (COMAR 10.27.01.13G)
The Board shall accept CEUs awarded by: (e) A local, state, or national professional nursing association that provides educational programs; (Reference: Section H (5).)
Other state boards of nursing are not on the list, so a course approved only by the CA BRN does not qualify. College coursework counts at 15 CEUs per semester hour. CEUs are subject to audit and must be kept for 6 years.
Mandated Topics: Implicit bias (one-time)
15 hrs / 2 yrs
Can be out of state. CEP and RNs can use checklist provided by BON. If list meets criteria, then CE follows guidelines.
Mandated Topics: 1 hr domestic & sexual violence; dementia (one-time)
25 hrs / 2 yrs
The Michigan Board of Nursing will accept any continuing education program or activity if it is approved or offered for CE credit by any of the following organizations: another state or provincial board of nursing.
Mandated Topics: 2 hrs pain management; implicit bias
24 hrs / 2 yrs
Be approved by a health licensing board or association or the provider of the continuing education must identify the objectives of the continuing education.
The Mississippi Nursing Practice Law does not mandate CEUs as a prerequisite to renewing or maintaining a RN or LPN license. If the RN or LPN has been out of practice for greater than five (5) years, the RN or LPN shall complete a minimum of twenty (20) contact hours of accepted continuing education earned in the previous 2-year period. Part 2815 (Continuing Education) was repealed by the Board in February 2020.
No requirements.
The Montana Board of Nursing no longer requires continuing education contact hours for license renewal. The board still offers free contact hours on its continuing education page.
20 hrs + 500 practice hrs / 2 yrs
By approved provider or nationally approved courses.
30 hrs / 2 yrs
(4) A provider of continuing education that is recognized by another board of nursing. (Reference: NAC 632.355.)
Providers can also become a Nevada CEP ($100).
Mandated Topics: 4 hrs cultural competency; 4 hrs bioterrorism (one-time)
30 hrs / 2 yrs
The Board does not require that your contact hours be earned at conferences that provide "official" contact hours granted by a professional organization.
30 hrs / 2 yrs (up to 15 extra hrs carry forward)
Nationally accredited courses or approved courses. (Reference: page 32.)
Confirm with the NJ Board.
Mandated Topics: 1 hr opioids
30 hrs / 2 yrs
CNL, follows NCSBN guidelines.
Compact state. The board also posts guidance on aesthetic certifications.
No requirement listed.
Mandated Topics: Infection control every 4 yrs; child abuse (one-time)
One of several options, e.g., 30 hrs / 2 yrs
North Carolina Board of Nursing (NCBON) or ANY state board of nursing. (Reference: page 1, #10.)
12 hrs / 2 yrs
Programs offered by approved providers of CE will be accepted if they meet the other requirements included in this policy. Board recognized providers of CE include: the North Dakota Board of Nursing; an accredited college or university; a health care regulatory board; a professional organization that is nationally accredited to approve CE. (Reference: Sections 7 & 8.)
Can apply through ND BON website..
24 hrs / 2 yrs
(7) A continuing education activity that has been approved by a board or an agency that regulates a health care profession or related discipline in Ohio or another jurisdiction.
Mandated Topics: 1 hr Ohio law & rules
One of: 520 practice hrs, 24 CE hrs, certification, or academic credit / 2 yrs
Continuing qualifications for practice: one of 520 work hours, 24 contact hours of CE, specialty certification, a Board-approved refresher course, or 6 academic credit hours within 2 years. CE contact hours must come from an accredited approver of continuing education or an approved Oklahoma nursing education program. Oklahoma has issued multistate (compact) licenses since January 19, 2018.
Practice hours
Mandatory CE courses in pain management & cultural competency. Does not state additional requirements.
Mandated Topics: Pain management (state module); cultural competency
30 hrs / 2 yrs
Activities approved by a Board in another jurisdiction are also approved by PA BRN.
Providers can also apply for PA approval ($115, 5-year).
Mandated Topics: 2 hrs child abuse recognition
10 hrs / 2 yrs
Any department or school of nursing approved by a board of nursing, or such other professional, labor organization, or accrediting agency as may be approved by the Board.
Mandated Topics: 2 hrs substance abuse; 1 hr Alzheimer’s
30 hrs or other competency option / 2 yrs
Any state Board of Nursing.
No CE required for RN renewal.
2 of 14 competency options / 2 yrs
Any State Board of Nursing.
20 hrs or certification / 2 yrs
Any course/offering/activity/program that offers Continuing Nursing Education (CNE) contact hours and is in the nurse's area of practice can be used for licensure renewal so long as it is approved by a credentialing agency or provider recognized by the Board. States CEs are accepted from other state boards.
The human trafficking course must be BON-approved.
Mandated Topics: 2 hrs jurisprudence & ethics; human trafficking (BON-approved)
30 hrs or practice-hour options / 2 yrs
The laws and rules page does not list specific approved CE providers. The rule definitions (R156-31b-102) include continuing education approved by any state board of nursing.
No CEs required. VT is part of NCL; Compact License holders need to follow NCL guidelines.
Options, e.g., 30 hrs, or 15 hrs + 640 practice hrs / 2 yrs
Accepted sources include “11. A state or federal government agency.” The CA BRN is a state agency.
8 CE hrs + 96 practice hrs / yr
Education can be completed in another state if it is related to nursing practice; any type of continuing education related to the practice of nursing meets the requirement.
Mandated Topics: Suicide prevention (one-time)
12 hrs / 2 yrs
Registered nurses are required to complete 12 hours of continuing education during each 2-year renewal period from a Board-approved CE provider. Approved providers include any State Board of Nursing in the U.S.
Mandated Topics: Drug diversion / best practice
No current requirements.
One option: 40 CE hrs or 400 practice hrs (or other options) / 2 yrs
The WSBN does not offer approval of educational programs. Wyoming is willing to accept courses approved by continuing nursing education (CNE), continuing medical education (CME), or activities sponsored by organizations, agencies, or educational institutions. These courses are approved for nursing or medical contact hours by an accredited provider or approver of continuing education.
If you have a question on whether an activity or course will be accepted, please submit the following information to wsbn.practice@wyo.gov: level of license; course/activity description or syllabus; who provided the education (accrediting body/organization/institution); number of hours; certificate of completion/transcript (if available).
Hour totals follow Nurse.org’s April 2026 table unless noted. Provider language comes from the board-site review, with HiveCE (2021) and MedCEC (2022) rule quotes filling gaps. LPN and APRN rules differ and are not covered here.
05 · Aesthetic Practice
What each board says about RNs performing injectables, lasers and other aesthetic procedures. 18 boards publish aesthetic-specific guidance. Most require a prescriber’s exam and order, written policies, and documented training.
Alabama
Specific GuidanceRequires standardized procedures with Board approval, competency assessment, and supervision for anything beyond basic RN practice. The board website notes RNs are not allowed to administer aesthetic injectables.
ABN Standardized ProceduresLink From Board Website
Arizona
Specific GuidanceAdvisory opinion (rev. Nov 2025) sorts procedures into three levels. Neuromodulators, fillers, PRP and threads are Level III: RN or APRN only, a licensed practitioner’s order, written informed consent, and supervision by a practitioner trained in aesthetics. An initial exam by a qualified practitioner is required (telemedicine allowed). Written policies must be approved by that practitioner, and training must include a supervised practicum.
AZBN Advisory OpinionLink Verified Sept 2026
Arkansas
Specific GuidanceNurses follow the prescriber’s orders and written policies and procedures.
Decision-making modelLink From Board Website
California
Specific GuidanceRNs may inject under physician-signed standardized procedures after a good faith exam by a physician, NP or PA. RNs cannot perform the exam or issue the treatment order. LVNs may not inject cosmetic agents.
Summary (MDCo, 2026)Secondary Sources; Confirm With the BRN
Connecticut
Specific GuidanceBotox parties are prohibited (Public Act 14-119). A good faith exam is required, and the nurse must show training competency.
OLR report 2016-R-0204Public Act 14-119Link From Board Website
Florida
Specific GuidanceBoard website: only NPs may inject. Written protocols must follow the Board’s format.
Protocol standardsAPRN protocol formatLink From Board Website
Kentucky
Specific GuidanceAOS #35, Roles of Nurses in Cosmetic and Dermatological Procedures, is on the Board’s January 2026 practice agenda for revision. Injectables require evaluation and an order from a physician, PA or APRN; RNs and LPNs administer under that order.
AOS #35Link Verified Sept 2026
Louisiana
Specific GuidanceDeclaratory statement (2011): treatment ordered by a qualified physician or collaborating NP after a history and exam; RN trained and qualified; written policies in place; documented competency.
Declaratory statementLink Verified Sept 2026
Massachusetts
Specific GuidanceAdvisory ruling AR 13-01: RNs may assess and must follow written orders from a licensed provider. RNs cannot order medication. Policies, procedures and documented competency are required.
AR 13-01Link From Board Website
Montana
Specific GuidanceMed spa FAQ (2020): RNs and LPNs with appropriate training, education and supervision may inject prescribed medications as part of a treatment plan, but may not diagnose or prescribe. Laser hair removal is a medical procedure. APRNs have full practice authority.
Med spa FAQLink Verified Sept 2026
Nebraska
Specific GuidanceAdvisory opinion on cosmetic and dermatologic procedures.
Advisory opinionLink Verified Sept 2026
Nevada
Specific GuidanceAesthetic Practice Decision (Jan 2025): an instructional program and proven proficiency for each procedure, ongoing competency validation, written protocols approved by a qualified practitioner, informed consent, and an order from a practitioner who assessed the patient. APRNs with independent authority may perform without supervision.
Aesthetic Practice DecisionLink Verified Sept 2026
North Carolina
Specific GuidancePosition statement (Feb 2024): cosmetic procedures are within RN and LPN scope when ordered by a physician, NP, PA or other prescriber and all criteria are met, including employer policies available in the facility.
Position statement (2024)Link Updated; Old Link No Longer Works
North Dakota
Specific GuidancePractice guidance (rev. Nov 2023): an RN with comprehensive, accredited training, certification and competencies may inject FDA-approved aesthetic agents under a prescribed plan with a documented initial assessment by the prescriber. RNs cannot diagnose, prescribe or dispense. The guidance does not apply to LPNs.
Aesthetic practice guidanceLink Verified Sept 2026
Ohio
Specific GuidanceInterpretive guideline 07: RNs need orders and demonstrated competency for cosmetic injections.
Interpretive guideline 07Link From Board Website
Oklahoma
Specific GuidanceLaser hair removal statement. The employer must have a written policy and procedure.
Laser statementRulesLink From Board Website
South Dakota
Specific GuidanceThe Board has a statement on RN and LPN dermatological procedures.
Dermatological proceduresLink Verified Sept 2026
Texas
Specific GuidancePosition Statement 15.9 (laser therapy): documented training, an order from a physician or collaborating APRN/PA, and medical backup. The position statements also cover delegated nonsurgical cosmetic procedures, and the Medical Board’s Rule 193.17 sets supervision.
BON position statements (2025)Link Verified Sept 2026
Position statements and advisory opinions guide practice but may not carry the force of law. Medical-board and cosmetology rules can also apply. Confirm with the board before practicing.
06 · Method
A CA BRN provider counts as “Accepted” when board language accepts CE approved by another state’s board of nursing, or by a state agency that regulates a health profession. Boards that judge courses by content instead of approving providers, and states that don’t require CE for RN renewal, are also counted as Accepted. “Check First” covers conditional rules, unclear language, and states where the sources conflict.
Primary evidence is the board-site review (October 2026), which links to each board’s CE page and rule. Hour totals come from Nurse.org (April 2026). Secondary quotes from HiveCE (2021) and MedCEC (2022) were used only where the board-site review had no provider language.
This is a summary of board rules, not legal advice. Confirm with your board before each renewal cycle.
07 · Sources
Each State’s Board and Rule Links Appear in Its Table Row. Last Reviewed October 2026.